Multilateral Agreements (MLAs)

The EA MLA is an agreement signed between the European Co-operation for Accreditation (EA) accreditation body members to recognise the equivalence, reliability and therefore acceptance of accredited certifications, inspections, calibration certificates, test reports and reference materials across Europe. Currently, INAB is a signatory to the EA MLA for accreditation of testing (including medical testing) & calibration laboratories, inspection bodies, management systems certification bodies, product certification bodies, and reference material producers, collectively known as conformity assessment bodies, or CABs.

The MLA eliminates the need for suppliers of products or services to be certified in each country where they sell their products or services, and therefore provides a means for goods and services to cross boundaries in Europe.

It delivers confidence in the service supplied by accredited laboratories, inspection and certification bodies, thereby providing the framework for goods and services to cross European borders, and acting as a "passport for trade."

The EA MLA is recognised at worldwide level through the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) and the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) and it is through this mechanism that European accreditation bodies (ABs) attain international recognition for their accredited CABs, meaning that goods and services can cross boundaries, not only in Europe, but around the world.

The EA MLA is maintained through a robust peer evaluation system. These on-site evaluations confirm INAB’s continued conformity to internationally accepted criteria. INAB is evaluated against ISO 17011, applicable EA, IAF and ILAC documents and is overseen by the EU Commission, the EA Multilateral Agreement Council (MAC) and national authorities.  Peer evaluation teams regularly include representatives from ILAC and IAF.

INAB’s peer evaluation history:

  • 1993: 1st peer evaluation: accreditation of test and calibration laboratories
  • 1997: Scope extended to include accreditation of quality and environmental management system certification bodies
  • 1999: Follow-up visit
  • 2002: Scope extended to include accreditation of product certification bodies
  • 2006: Scope extended to include accreditation of inspection bodies
  • 2010: Routine evaluation, and testing MLA was expanded to include medical laboratories
  • 2014: Routine evaluation
  • 2018: Scope extended to include accreditation of reference material producers
  • 2022: INAB’s next routine peer evaluation is due.
INAB is signatory to the following MLAs:

European co-operation for Accreditation (EA)

Click on the image to see INAB's full scope of recognition ->


Click to view the EA MLA Certificate

 International Accreditation Forum (IAF)

Click on the image to see INAB's full scope of recognition ->

IAF Image

Click to view IAF Certificate

 International Laboratory Accreditation Co-operation (ILAC)

Click on the image to see INABs full scope of recognition ->

ILAC Signatory Search - Click the icon below.

Ilac Logo Search Icon


Click to view ILAC MRA Arrangement

The EA MLA Process