Medical and Scientific Advisory Committee

The Accreditation Board may establish advisory committees to provide ongoing advice to INAB on accreditation within a particular sector.

Establishment and purpose

The Committee has been established by the Irish National Accreditation Board (INAB), for the sole purpose of offering advice to the INAB Executive on issues of principal importance in the accreditation medical field. This will be primarily in the field of medical laboratory accreditation to ISO 15189 and may expand to other areas of INAB accreditation relevant to the medical sector.


The Committee had its first meeting on the 9th March 2010 and meets 2/3 times per year as needed.

Committee Membership

The members shall be nominated by interested parties for a period of 3 years with the possibility of reappointment. The membership shall include representatives of the end users of the accreditation scheme.

The composition of the INAB Medical Advisory Committee is as follows:

  • Chair: John O'Loughlin
    Laboratory Manager,  representing the ACSLM (Haematology)
  • Dr. Maire Lavelle
    Consultant Histopathologist, Representing the Faculty of Pathology
  • Naomi Cronin 
    Histopathology Medical Scientist, ACSLM
  • Eleanor Wallace
    Immunology Medical Scientist, ACSLM
  • Hilda Guerin
    Clinical Chemistry Medical Scientist, ACSLM
  • Susan Walker
    Microbiology Medical scientist, ACSLM
  • Fergus Guilfoyle
    Blood Transfusion medical scientist, ACSLM
  • Mr Gary Norman
    HSE Clinical Lead,  Audiology services
  • Mr Sean Naughton
    INAB technical assessor and technical expert in the area of Biobanking 
  • Dr. Susanna Frost 
    Consultant Microbiologist, representative of the Irish Society for Clinical Microbiologists 
  • Dr Rama Srinivasan
    Consultant Chemical Pathologist, representative of the Faculty of Pathology